What is an organic gemstone?

Although most gemstones are mineral materials, a number of organic materials are also considered to be gemstones. The most common of these are pearl, bone, amber, coral, jet, and ivory. These are materials, produced by organisms, that have been cut into gems and other ornamental objects.