What is phosphoric acid?

Phosphoric Acid is a weak acid. Also known as Orthophosphoric Acid. Formula: H3PO4

---

According to Orenda, phosphoric acid is a type of phosphate used as a metal and mineral sequestering agent. Phosphoric acid, or phosphonic acid, is commonly added to drinking water to protect the pipes and infrastructure of the water grid, preventing scale and corrosion of pipes.