What's the difference between reoccurring and recurring?

Reoccur and recur are verbs sharing a common root word. While they are very close in meaning, they are not the same. Something that is recurring happens over and over again, possibly at regular intervals. In contrast, something that is reoccurring is simply happening again but not always repeatedly.