What was the initial autopsy?

An initial autopsy is a careful inspection of the body that can help establish identity, locate evidence or suggest a cause of death. The pathologists weighs & measures the body, noting the subject's clothing, valuables & characteristics as eye color, hair color and length, ethnicity, sex and age.