What is a minecraft skeleton?

A Skeleton is a common hostile mob that shoots arrows and drops 0-2 bones , 0-2 arrows , and/or a bow (most likely used, however there is a small chance a bow may be enchanted). They are the primary ranged mob that the player encounters while in the Overworld.