Who is the first person to sing somewhere over the rainbow?

"Over the Rainbow" is a ballad composed by Harold Arlen with lyrics by Yip Harburg. It was written for the film The Wizard of Oz and was sung by actress Judy Garland in her starring role as Dorothy Gale. It won the Academy Award for Best Original Song and became Garland's signature song.