Is sam smith black or white?

Sam Smith wins BET's best new artist, wasn't there 'because he's white and he didn't think he would win' The Black Entertainment Television (BET) awards were Sunday night, and among the many accolades handed out was "best new artist," awarded to British blue-eyed soul singer Sam Smith.