What are the general characteristics of a solid?

General characteristics of a solid are: They have definite mass, volume and shape. Intermolecular distances are short. Intermolecular forces are strong. Their constituent particles (like atoms, molecules or ions) have fixed positions and can only oscillate about their mean positions.