When did man start using fire?

It is not known for sure when fire was first controlled by humans. Evidence for the use of fire by Homo erectus by about 400,000 years ago has wide scholarly support. Claims for the earliest definitive evidence of control of fire by a Hominidae range from 0.2 to 1.7 million years ago