Where did pig latin come from?

Pig Latin seems to have been invented by American children sometime in the 1800s. Originally it was called Hog Latin. Pig Latin solidified its place in the American consciousness with the release of the song Pig Latin Love in 1919.

---

Invented language is a phenomenon that stretches across cultures. Pig Latin seems to have been invented by American children sometime in the 1800s, originally it was called Hog Latin. Pig Latin solidified its place in the American consciousness with the release of the song Pig Latin Love in 1919.