When was the first brassiere made?

The first modern brassiere to receive a patent was the one invented in 1913 by a New York socialite named Mary Phelps Jacob. "Brassiere" derived from the old French word for "upper arm." Her patent was for a device that was lightweight, soft and separated the breasts naturally.