What does the year of the goat mean?

In the Chinese zodiac, there are 12 signs, just like the 12 zodiac signs of the Western zodiac. But in Chinese zodiac, the signs match the year you were born, not the month. People born in a Year of the Goat are described as peace-loving, kind, and popular.