What was the first case of aids?

Pre-1980. It is widely believed that HIV originated in Kinshasa, in the Democratic Republic of Congo around 1920 when HIV crossed species from chimpanzees to humans. Up until the 1980s, no one knows how many people were infected with HIV or developed AIDS.