What are the twenties throwbacks?

The fashion of the 1920s was all about rule-breaking. The little girls in the photo above, taken in San Francisco in 1920, have short hair, loose dresses, and lots of attitude. The styles of 1920s San Francisco were innovative and effortlessly cool.