How many leaves are on a big tree?

Using the range of estimates for deciduous forests of LAI = 5 to 8, the corresponding approximate range of estimated leaves on the big oak tree would range from 1.25 million leaves to 2 million leaves.

---

You can estimate this answer by counting how many leaves are on a twig, how many twigs are on a small branch, how many small branches are on a large branch, and how many large branches are on a tree. Then multiply the answers.