Who invented the back scratcher?

Back scratchers were first invented by early primates and certain species of animals, like apes, who used tree branches to reach an itch. Primitive man very likely mimicked the behavior, thus creating the original concept of the back scratcher.

---

Native Americans in the early 1300s are credited with creating the first back scratcher out of a dried wolverine paw.