How long did the french occupy mexico?

The Second French Intervention in Mexico lasted about five and a half years from December 8, 1861 to June 21, 1867. It was preceded by an earlier, shorter occupation by France known as the Pastry War or the First French Intervention from November 27, 1838 to March 9, 1839.