What does yield mean in driving?

“Yield” means let other road users go first. It's not just other cars. Don't forget about bicycles and pedestrians. Unlike with stop signs, drivers aren't required to come to a complete stop at a yield sign and may proceed without stopping -- provided that it is safe to do so.