What are notes receivable classified as?

Notes receivable are usually amounts of income owed to businesses or incorporated organizations/individuals for purchase(s) or service(s) rendered. In bookkeeping, notes receivable exist as a separate category of positive income on a balance sheet because it is expected but not received.