Is there seven colors in the rainbow?

There are actually an infinite number of colors (light frequencies) in the rainbow, but the main ones with names are red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and violet. Sometimes people add indigo between blue and violet, but that's mostly to make the colors spell Roy G Biv, which is easy to remember.

---

There are seven colors in the rainbow: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet.