What is a friendly in soccer?

A friendly, or exhibition game, is the term for all games that are not competitive fixtures. Friendlies are most common in pre-season, as sort of training to find "the form" and raise the tempo. Also, they're often used by coaches to experiment with tactics and try out new players.