What is halal?

Halal is Arabic for permissible. Halal food adheres to Islamic law. Halal meat & fowl, must be ritually slaughtered in a prescribed manner, by a Muslim, who says a blessing. Only certain types of foods & animals are allowed to be eaten. Halal, is the Muslim equivalent, of the Jewish Kosher laws.