What is calumon lotion?

Calamine, or calamine lotion, is a medication used to treat mild itchiness from sunburn, insect bites, poison ivy, poison oak, or other mild skin conditions. It may also help dry out skin irritation. It is applied on the skin as a cream or lotion. Side effects may include skin irritation or allergy.