What's the difference between a plum and a prune?

A prune is just a dried out plum. Just like a raisin is a dried out grape. And a granny is a dried out mommy.

---

A prune is a dried plum, most commonly from the European plum. Not all plum species or varieties can be dried into prunes. A prune is the firm-fleshed fruit of Prunus domestica varieties that have a high soluble solids content, and does not ferment during drying.