What is a gothic novel?

Gothic Novels became popular in the late 1700s, in Great Britain. It is a fiction genre characterized by mystery, suspense, terror & supernatural horror, usually set in a dark castle, monastery, or other medieval setting. It is one of the oldest and most studied forms of genre or formula fiction.