Why was the berlin wall put up?

The Soviet run German Democratic Republic portrayed the Wall as protecting its population from fascist elements conspiring to prevent the "will of the people" from building a socialist state. In practice, it kept the East German people out of the capitalist, prosperous, West Berlin.