How do you boil rice?

First rinse one cup of rice to get rid of extra starches. Boil two cups of water, add the rice and turn down the heat to a simmer. Put a cover on the pot and set a timer for eighteen to twenty minutes. Then, let it rest for a few minutes and it's ready to enjoy.