What is a before dinner drink called?

A cocktail served before dinner is sometimes called an aperitif.

---

Serving a cocktail before dinner is a courtesy to guests but it also serves a purpose. Known as an aperitif, the before-dinner drink prepares the stomach for food and the palate for the delicious tastes it is about to enjoy. Many of the best aperitifs include gin, vermouth, or a dry wine.