What is a saddle back caterpillar?

The saddleback caterpillar, Acharia stimulea, is the larva of a species of moth native to eastern North America. It is also found in Mexico. It does occur South of the Yucatan. The species belongs to the family of slug caterpillars, Limacodidae.