How many b. t. use does the human body produce?

Morpheus says that the human body generates 25,000 BTUs, which is approximately 10 horsepower or about 7.3 kilowatts. In reality, the human body produces between 250 and 400 BTUs of power, depending on its state of consciousness. In other words, when the body is asleep, it produces less.