What is alcohol?

Alcohol (ethanol or ethyl alcohol) is the ingredient found in beer, wine, and spirits, that causes intoxication.

---

Alcohol and carbon dioxide are expelled by yeast. Ingested in even small amounts, alcohol disrupts the signal between the brain and the rest of body.