What is the definition of a nygma?

Nygma are spots on the wings of certain insects which have a peculiar dense cuticular structure. They are found only in the wings of endopterygotes but found only in some insect groups. Nygmata are found in caddisflies, scorpionflies, saw-flies and in some families of Neuroptera

---

Nygma (plural Nygmata) are spots on the wings of certain insects which have a peculiar dense cuticular structure