What is hemlock wood used for?

Hemlock lumber is considered to be moderately stiff, moderately low in strength, and moderately hard, with a relative hardness rating of 500 when dry, or 400 when green. Hemlock is widely used for timber framing, general framing, and in the manufacture of boxes, pallets, and crates.