What's the optimal equinox?

The equinox is the day when the sun is directly above the equator and length of day and night are approximately equal all over the globe. In the northern hemisphere the autumnal equinox occurs in September and the vernal equinox occurs in March, in the southern hemisphere the names are reversed.