What happens when you get ink poisoning?

Symptoms depend on what type of ink is used. Nausea and vomiting are symptoms of ingesting too much writing or printer ink. Nervous system damage and headaches can occur from swallowing printer ink, while poisoning from tattoo ink often results in swelling, pain, and a rash.