Are peppers very hot?

The heat varies from one kind of pepper to another. Habanero and ghost peppers are hot enough to cause burns, while bell peppers are not hot at all. Anaheim peppers are hotter than bells but not as hot as jalapenos. The pith & seeds are the hottest part of any pepper.