Why did colin kaepernick get fired?

At the end of the 2016 NFL season, the 49ers told Kaepernick they planned to release him because of new head coach Kyle Shanahan's different approach to offense, not because of Kaepernick's activism. Kaepernick opted out of his contract and became a free agent, but was not signed to any team.