Why is the name bill short for william?

There r many theories. The most obvious is, it was part of the Middle Ages trend of letter swapping. Much like Dick rhymes with Rick, the same is true of Bill and Will. Hard consonants tend to be easier to pronounce than soft ones. Therefore, some believe Will morphed into Bill for phonetic reasons.