Why is buffalo sauce called buffalo?

Buffalo sauce originally appeared in Buffalo, NY. More specifically, it was made in the Anchor Bar, created by Teressa Bellissimo. She made the wings the way she did because at the time, that was all she had available. So, she named her chicken wings with hot sauce, Buffalo Wings.