Why did hamilton and burr have a duel?

In April 1804, the Albany Register published a letter from opposing Burr's bid to become President. The letter said Hamilton had stated Burr was dangerous and shouldn't be trusted with running the government. Hamilton didn't deny making the statement, leading to the Burr challenge.