How are plants made?

Plants need energy from the sun, water from the soil, and carbon from the air to grow. Air is mostly made of nitrogen, oxygen, and carbon dioxide. They absorb carbon dioxide from the air. This carbon makes up most of the building materials that plants use to build new leaves, stems, and roots.