When was the first cell phone?

The world’s first cell phone was launched in 1983.

---

In 1973, 10 years before a cell phone was first released onto the market, the first cell phone call was made by Martin Cooper. Cooper, from Motorola, placed a call to Dr. Joel Engel of Bell Labs. The call on which this phone was made was an early prototype of the DynaTAC mobile phone.23 Oct 2018