Is lava hotter than magma?

Lava is not as hot as magma. Lava can get as hot as 1,165 degrees Fahrenheit, with lava flows getting hotter than 1,600 degrees Fahrenheit. Magma is melted rock and can reach temperatures of 2,120 degrees Fahrenheit. Lava is magna that has reached the surface of the planet via a volcanic vent.