Give me more definitions for sortie?

Sortie means exit in the French language. For example, the trans-Canada highway has signs by exit ramps with the word sortie printed on them. Sortie also means an excursion. For example, the tourists disembarked the cruise ship to go on a shopping sortie at the port of call