How many minerals are in scotland?

The rocks of Scotland contain a wide range of gem material. In addition to sapphire, ruby and possibly diamond, the country has produced topaz, beryl, cairngorm (citrine) and amethyst, together with gem-quality garnet, tour- maline, agate and zircon.