When were germs first discovered?

Germ theory was first developed in the 18th century and was largely confirmed by the 1890s, primarily due to the work of John Snow, Louis Pasteur and Robert Koch. It is now agreed that bacteria, viruses and parasites account for all infectious diseases that can be passed from person to person.