How common is synesthesia?

Synesthesia is a perceptual phenomenon where stimulation of one sensory pathway leads to involuntary experiences in a different sensory pathway. There are many different types of synesthesia and the prevalence ranges from 1 in 4 to 1 in 100000 depending on the study