What is a pig in a poke?

A pig in a poke is a saying that is intended to offer something in a way to obsure the item. The phrase dates back to the Middle Ages when meat was hard to obtain and the poke refers to a bag or sack. One could not see the quality of the meat becasue it was hidden inside the poke or bag.