Where do pinto beans come from?

Native to Mexico, pintos take about 90-150 days to grow as a dry bean but can be harvested earlier and eaten as a green snap bean. They come in both determinate (bush) and indeterminate varieties. They require very little care, although they need more space between plants than other bean types