Is there such thing as a red bee?

Osmia bicornis, synonym Osmia rufa, is a species of mason bee, and is known as the red mason bee due to its covering of dense gingery hair. It is a solitary bee that nests in holes or stems and is polylectic, meaning it forages pollen from various different flowering plants.

---

Red bees are very similar to the blue bee in how they forage, nest, and sting (the male has no stinger). When laying eggs the male larvae are placed closer to the nest's opening so they emerge first. They are found in parts of the UK, Scandinavia, mainland Europe, and parts of the Middle East.